Over Edited Footage?

Since looking at the work of Francesca Woodman when I have been editing my final video I have kind of been looking at it in a different light. I am really questioning the added filters to the webcam footage. Does it really need to be black and white with the text element in the top corners?

Would the project work better if the other footage (screen recordings / viral videos) had these filters added? I think the simple answer to that is no, this would definitely be over kill. But now I am wondering if these web cam recordings without filters are strong enough to portray the message I am trying to get across…Who is watching you?

Screen Shot 2017-05-20 at 13.48.34

Comparing the original with the edited does make me prefer the edited when looking at them next to each other, but I don’t think there is any way of knowing if this is better or not unless I edit the whole video to be in colour.

Now that I have seen the project edited in this way, I definitely don’t think that having the clips different sizes works. Also, the screen recordings don’t work as each of the video clips don’t sync together well. I tried to have cell phone footage up when the user was on their phone but even still this doesn’t look right. I think even if I had the exact footage this wouldn’t be that shocking. Not that shock is the intention but I do want to make the viewer uncomfortable.

As for the colour, I am not convinced about that either. The black and white filtered footage gives the impression that the user doesn’t know they’re being watched as the footage seems quite seedy.

So no to colour but yes to the structured grid.

Leave a Reply

